Municipality of Mandra-Eidyllia

The Municipality of Mandra-Eidyllia belongs to the Regional Unit of West Attica and the seat of the Municipality is the town of Mandra. The Municipality of Mandra-Eidyllia was formed after the local government reform (Law 3852/2010 Kallikratis) by the merge of the Municipal Units of Madra, Vilia, Erythres and Oinoi. The Municipality of Mandra-Eidyllia has a population of 20.098 people and covers an area of 426,26km2 (2001 census).

Municipal Unit of Mandra

Mandra is the largest city of West Attica, covering an area of 206.000 acres. The city is surrounded by the cities of Elefsina, Megara, Vilia, Erythres and Oinoi. Some of the architectural sights of the area are the Monastery of St. Meletius, the 11th century church of St. John of Koraka, the Church of Sts. Archangels and the Church of Sts. Constantine and Helen (an architectural plan of Ziller).

Municipal Unit of Vilia

Vilia (former Eidyllia) is located on the mountain of Kithaironas, at 600m height. The population of the area is estimated to 3.215 residents and the population density was reported at 22 people per (2001 census).

Municipal Unit of Erythres

The Municipal Unit of Erythres is located on the north side of Kithaironas Mountain at 480m height, near the Attica Prefecture and the Prefecture of Voiotia. It is worth mentioning that the remains of the ancient city of Plataies are found near the area on the Old Athens-Thiva National Road, 60km from Athens. 


Oinoi is located near the Old Athens-Thiva National Road, 45km from Athens. The population of the area is estimated to 764 residents according to the 2001 census. Most of the residents are involved in agriculture, while there is tourism activity during the summer season.

For more information please visit the official website of the Municipality of Mandra-Eidyllia:

Photos Municipality Mandra

  • Port Porto Germeno2
  • Porto GermenoAigosthena
  • psatha
  • Tower in Oinoi
  • Villia1
  • Aigosthena fortress 1
  • Aigosthena fortress 3
  • Church of the Annunciation of the Virgin Mary
  • Erythres (Kriekouki)3
  • kithairwnas3
  • Villia2
  • villia3
  • Aigosthena fortress 2
  • Aigosthena fortress 4
  • Alepohori
  • Church of Sts. Constantine and Helen
  • Erythres (Kriekouki)1
  • Erythres (Kriekouki)2
  • kithairwnas1
  • kithairwnas2